Liverpool’s 25-Man PL squad named, with one eye opening inclusion…

Liverpool’s 25-Man PL squad named, with one eye opening inclusion… The Empire of The Kop

Liverpool have submitted their full squad list ahead of the new Premier League season. All clubs are allowed 25 players over the age of 21, with a maximum of 17 foreigners.

We’ve decided to only name 22 senior professionals, seven of which are home grown – meaning our squad is legal because it has 15 senior foreigners.

Premier League rules state clubs can name unlimited number of Under-21s, both English or otherwise, and you can see Jurgen Klopp has taken no risks by submitting the names of the entire Academy, just in case. In the ‘Under-21 list’, you’ll see the likes of Divock Origi, Marko Grujic and Joe Gomez – who’ll be very much part of the first-team squad but are still ‘free choices’ for the time being.

Notably, Mamadou Sakho has been named in the squad. This is despite the fact he was told in no uncertain terms that he wouldn’t play this season if he refused a loan deal away from the club (via Telegraph), which he did – turning down a number of suitors on deadline day.

Due to his disciplinary problems, Sakho is now sixth in the centre-back pecking order behind Dejan Lovren, Ragnar Klavan, Joel Matip, Gomez and Lucas – but by naming Sakho in the squad – Liverpool are taking out an insurance policy against a defensive injury crisis – and perhaps giving the Frenchman a glimpse of hope, too.

Full list courtesy of the Echo

25 Squad players (*=Home grown)

Barbosa de Oliveira, Roberto Firmino

Can, Emre

*Clyne, Nathaniel Edwin

Coutinho Correia, Philippe

*Henderson, Jordan Brian

Ilori, Tiago

*Ings, Daniel William John

Karius, Loris

Klavan, Ragnar

*Lallana, Adam David

Lovren, Dejan

Mane, Sadio

Manninger, Alexander

Matip, Job Joel Andre

Mignolet, Simon

*Milner, James Philip

Moreno Perez, Alberto

Pezzini Leiva, Lucas

Sakho, Mamadou

*Stewart, Kevin Linford

*Sturridge, Daniel

Wijnaldum, Georginio

Under-21 players (Contract and Scholars)

Adekanye, Omobolaji Habeeb

Alexander Arnold, Trent

Atherton, Daniel

Awoniyi, Taiwo

Brannagan, Cameron

Brewitt, Tom

Brewster, Rhian

Brimmer, Jake

Camacho, Rafael Euclides Soares

Chirivella Burgos, Pedro

Correia Gomes, Toni

Coyle, Liam

Dhanda, Yan

Driscoll-Glennon, Anthony

Ejaria, Oviemuno

Firth, Andrew

Fulton, Ryan

Garcia Rey, Juan Manuel

George, Shamal

Gomes Aju, Madger Antonio

Gomez, Joseph David

Grabara, Kamil

Grujic, Marko

Hart, Samuel James

Hunter, Jordan

Jones, Lloyd Richard

Kane, Herbie

Kelleher, Caoimhin

Kent, Ryan

Lattie, Diego Omar

Lennon, Brooks

Lewis, Adam

Lewis, Kane

Maguire, Joseph

Masterson, Conor

McAuley, Glen

Millar, Liam

Neves Alves, Paulo Manuel

Ojo, Oluwaseyi

Origi, Divock Okoth

Owens, Kris

Parker, Mich’El

Phillips, Adam Lee

Phillips, Nathaniel Harry

Randall, Connor Steven

Rodrigues De Souza, Allan

Ryan Alonso, Dylan

Simmonds, Okera

Virtue Thick, Matthew Joseph

Whelan, Corey

Whyte, Harvey

Williams, Ben

Williams, Michael Jordan

Wilson, Harry

Woodburn, Benjamin

The post Liverpool’s 25-Man PL squad named, with one eye opening inclusion… appeared first on The Empire of The Kop.

September 2, 2016 at 03:12AM Liverpool September 2, 2016 at 03:12AM